Spread the love

Nuku’alofa – November 18, 2021: 11.55am (Nuku’alofa Times): A quick drive past by our team at polling stations in Kolofo’ou, Ma’ufanga, Patangata, Halaleva, Mataika, Ngeleia and Fanga this morning showed slow flows and low turn out of voters.

There were an average of five people inside these stations, while some were empty at the time of our visit.

Around 62,253 voters had registered to vote today.

A voter leaves the Catholic Church hall in Ma’ufanga after voting in the Tongatapu 4 constituency. Photo: Nuku’alofa Times

Voting opened at 9am and will close at 4pm.

Members of the public will elect 17 representatives from Tongatapu (10), ‘Eua (1), Ha’apai (2), Vava’u (3) and the two Niua’s (1).

Nobles will elect nine (9) of their own.

Voters at the Church of Tonga hall in Ma’ufanga waiting to case their votes for the Tongatapu 3 constituency. Photo: Nuku’alofa Times

That will make up the 26 member Legislative Assembly.

Preliminary results are expected to be announced on air by 5pm with official results from the Elections Office scheduled for around 10pm or by 11pm tonight.

Meanwhile, voting for the Nobles’ reps was held this morning as well here at the Palace Office in Nuku’alofa.

The Nobles at the Palace Office, (above) Lord Vaea, (below) Prince Fotofili, Lord Fakafanua, Noble Fohe, Lord Lasike, Lord Sevele, Lord Tuita and Lord Tu’ivakano. Photos: TBC

Those who were seen at the venue to cast their votes included former Prime Ministers Lord Tu’ivakano and Lord Sevele ‘o Vailahi, Lord Vaea, Noble Fohe, His Serene Highness Prince Kalaunivalu Fotofili, Lord Tu’ilakepa, Lord Luani and Lord Fakafanua.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *