Spread the love
Nuku’alofa – November 18, 2021: 11.25pm (Nuku’alofa Times): Surprises were the order of the day as the 17 Peoples’ Reps for the new parliamentary session were announced tonight (November 18).
This follows voting around the Kingdom today.
Supervisor of Elections Pita Vuki confirmed the official results a while ago before media reps the Tonga Elections Office.
Mr Vuki said the turnout at the polls was 62%.
The end of the Pohiva era in the Tongatapu 1 constituency was confirmed as incumbent Siaosi Pohiva lost his seat to Tevita Puloka.
Siaosi took over the seat when he narrowly won in a by-election in 2019, following the death of his father the late Samiuela Pohiva.
Semisi Sika, the late Pohiva’s deputy, was another surprise loser when he was defeated by newcomer Dr Pingi Fasi for the Tongatapu 4 constituency.
Yet again in another major surprise another Democratic Party stalwart and son in law to the late Mr Pohiva, Mateni Tapueluelu also lost his Tongatapu 4 seat to newcomer Tatafu Moeaki.
Former Education Director Taniela Fusimalohi also defeated current Finance Minister Tevita Lavemaau for the Eua seat.
The full list of People’s Reps are:
1- Tevita Puloka
2- Dr. Pingi Fasi
3. Siaosi Sovaleni
4- Tatafu Moeaki
5. Dr. ‘Aisake Eke
6. Poasi Tei
7. Sangster Saulala
8. Semisi Fakahau
9. Sevenitini Toumoua
10. Dr. Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa
11. Dr. Taniela Fusimalohi
12. Vili Manuopangai Hingano
13. Veivosa Taka
14. Dr. Saia Piukala
15. Samiu Vaipulu
16. Dr. Viliami Uasike Latu
17. Vatau Hui
Votes that won the seats for the MPs:
TT1 – Tevita Puloka – 1695 votes
TT2 – Dr. Pingi Fasi – 962 votes
TT3 – Hon Hu’akavameiliku (Siaosi Sovaleni) – 2084 votes
TT4 – Tatafu Moeaki – 1237
TT5 – Dr. Aisake Eke – 958 votes
TT6 – Poasi Tei – 1771 votes
TT7 – Sangster Saulala – 810 votes
TT8 – Semisi Fakahau – 1020 votes
TT9 – Seventeen Toumoua – 828 votes
TT10 – Pohiva Tuionetoa – 1303 votes
Eua 11 – Taniela Fusimalohi – 1072 votes
HP12 – Manuopangai Hingoa – 475 votes
HP13 – Veivosa Taka – 731 votes
VV14 – Saia Piukala – 1010 votes
VV15 – Samiu Vaipulu – 747
VV16 – Dr Viliami Latu – 1047
Niua 17 – Vatau Hui – 367 votes
May be an image of 1 person and sitting
Supervisor of Elections Pita Vuki announcing the official results tonight (November 18). Photo: Nuku’alofa Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *