Spread the love

Auckland, NEW ZEALAND – June 19, 2022: 8am (Nuku’alofa Times): Australia and Papua New Guinea will kick off the 2022 Oceania Rugby Super Sevens tournament being held at Navigation Homes Stadium on 24-26 June 2022, according to draws released by the Oceania Rugby today.

The two countries are sending teams to the event, joining New Zealand and Tonga. Samoa has pulled out to give their players time to rest with their families.

Teams will be joined by the  extended squads from Australia (Australia Selection), Fiji (Fijiana Development), and Tonga (Selection). The inclusion of extended teams provides each team a boost to team preparations ahead RWC Sevens 2022 and 2022 Commonwealth Games.

This is the first time New Zealand has played on home soil against their Oceania cousins since 2020 and will be the final hit out for all five Countries ahead of declaring their teams for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games in July.

Taking charge of the 2022 Oceania Rugby Super Sevens will be experienced match officials Tyler Miller (AUS), Nicholas Hogan (NZ) and Tevita Rokovereni (FIJ) who will be joined for the first time at Oceania Rugby event by Lavenia Racaca and Jiuwa Sokosayakimoce both of Fiji.

Here’s the draw:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *